Allergen-Free Treats Everyone Can Eat This Halloween
One of the sweetest parts of Halloween is the candy from trick-or-treating! Even though kids get the most excited about gathering candy door-to-door in fun costumes, parents love picking out of kids’ candy bags, too!
When you fill your candy bowl this spooky season, consider common food allergies so that everyone can share in this Halloween tradition. Some of our favorite candies may have ingredients that aren’t safe for all kids. While some people have mild sensitivities to certain foods, others can have serious health consequences from exposure to them.
The most common food allergies are referred to as the “top 8” by the United States Food and Drug Administration. They include allergies to milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans. (In 2023, sesame will be added to this list.)
Of course, you can also hand out non-candy items, like stickers, pencils, erasers, and other tokens (as long as they don’t present a choking hazard!). But Halloween would be the same without candy!
When you’re buying candy to hand out, you might want to consider having a separate bowl or dish with candy that does not have any of the top 8 allergens. You can also buy all candy that is allergen free and make things even simpler!
The Teal Pumpkin Project allow you to identify your house as a place where trick-or-treaters can get allergen-free sweets. Just place a teal pumpkin in front of your home and register your location online so that families can easily find you.
Here are some of the best candies you can look without the top 8 allergies. Save and share the picture below so you can help everyone have a very Happy Halloween!
Saf-T Pops Saf-T-Pops are classic candies because of their looped handle which make them less of a choking hazard for your little ones. The typical bag offers grape, apple, orange, and cherry flavors.
Dots Dots always seem to make their way into Halloween candy hauls. They’re also a favorite movie theater snack. These gum drops are free of the top 8 allergens and are vegan and Kosher, too!
Sour Patch KidsWhile many gummy candies contain gelatin, an animal by product, Sour Patch kids are actually vegan! Hand our snack-sized pouches and trick-or-treats will never skip your house.
Air Heads Sweet, chewy, tangy and – Air Heads are one of the most popular taffy treats sold in North America. You can buy assorted, mini-bar variety backs especially for Halloween!
Swedish Fish Swedish fish are another popular gummy candy that happens to be vegan. Pro tip: look for variety packs with individual-sized pouches of both Swedish Fish AND Sour Patch Kids!
Smarties Smarties have been making their way into trick-or-treat bags for over 70 years. They come in six flavors: orange cream, pineapple, cherry, strawberry, grape, and orange.
Dum Dums One of the most well-known lollipops in North America, it’s hard to resist a Dum-Dum! They come in 16 different flavors, including the special Mystery Flavor.™
As always, be sure to double check food labels and ingredient lists. Some candies may not contain allergens, but could be processed in facilities where top 8 ingredients are processed. For more tips and tricks to help you celebrate holiday magic all year, subscribe!